Skip to content

Pocket Page Scrapbooking #2

June 30, 2014

Okay, I’m just too gosh darned excited about this to get anything else done (I’m supposed to be job hunting…). I needed to get started on  collecting materials that will help me use Club Scrap supplies with Pocket Page Scrapbooking, so here we go…

In this post, I’m focusing more on a subset of possible pocket page cards–the journaling cards–as opposed to the decorative filler cards in the first post.

Weekly Chronicles

2012 Weekly Chronicles unmounted rubber stamps

First off, actually Club Scrap did initiate an entry into this realm when they came out in 2012 with their “Weekly Chronicles” line of products. Of course, I grabbed up their offerings at the time, and remarkably enough, they still have some of these products available! I urge anyone who has not indulged in these supplies yet to hurry up before they’re gone forever!

There is the sheet of unmounted stamps–here–, and also still available are some digital templates if you’re into digi or hybrid–here and here.

So these stamps can take care of one important aspect of pocket page cards… being able to record specific days, dates, times, etc. on little journaling block cards.

But what I felt I needed in order to REALLY get going with pocket page scrapbooking were two more elements:

  • I felt we were missing (or rather, kind of “light” on) some stamps that provided lines or grids for handwriting journaling on the cards; in sizes that would accommodate 4 x 6 cards and 3 x 4 cards, in both horizontal and vertical orientations;
  • And thirdly, not missing, but … just “scattered” around amongst all the graphic stamp images, were ones to use for making frames and borders on the cards. I want to collect those in one place.

So that’s what I’m attempting to start gathering here… today I’ll post a little taste of a few of the gems I dug out of the archives of stamps and stencils:

Workbench grid stamp

Workbench grid wood-mounted stamp (August 2005)

Here’s the one stamp that immediately came to mind that would work well for quick-and-dirty grid stamping… from the Workbench kit of Sept. 2005. Now, even with using a stamp positioner, I didn’t have much success yet in extending cleanly the lines further in one direction for filling out a rectangular pocket card. So I would wish CS could someday come up with some of these type of stamps in rectangular shape, for 4×6 and 3×4 size cards…

I will be posting more in this category later, as I have kept an index of “lined” images from all the past stamp images. Just wanted to get rolling with this one. If you have this one, it will serve well enough to start. Especially if used with not a black ink, but a more faded color, such as grey ink or a pastel color matching your cardstock. Tone on tone would be cool; so as not to compete with the ink color used in handwriting the journaling text on them.

As for the square shape on rectangle shaped cards, I’m sure it won’t be a problem to fill in the extra open space with either decorative graphic images, or other embellishments such as flowers, brads, fibers, etc.; such as Ariana did on the samples I posted yesterday.

Calendar grid stamp

Monthly calendar grid wood-mounted stamp, from the Retreat 2003 kit.

 

And then there’s this one that would be good for use on 4×6 and larger cards, for creating customized monthly calendar cards … from the Retreat 2003 kit. There is a miniature version of this grid, that would work on 3×4 cards, on the Unmounted Borders & Backgrounds stamp sheet from that Retreat kit. (In addition to unmounted month name stamps and weekday name stamps that will fit in this larger stamp.)

 

 

Language of Love frame stamp

Language of Love wood mounted frame stamp (Feb 2000)

Okay, those get us started with the grid/lines need. Next up is frames/borders. As I mentioned, I kept an index of these things that I’ll dig from and post later, but to get started I wanted to show these old-but-goodies: here is a frame stamp from the Language of Love kit (February 2000). I realize that not many people might have this stamp; if you ever see it on Ebay, snatch it up!

Frame and grid stamp together

Language of Love frame stamp combined with Workbench grid stamp

And here’s how it would look combined with the grid stamp, just for kicks…

 

 

Frame stencils

Frame stencils from the Varsity Junior kit (June 2005)

And finally I wanted to end today with an often overlooked resource–the collection of stencils we’ve received in our monthly Club Scrap kits. This one immediately came to mind for pocket cards, because it was originally intended to fit ATC cards, which are just a tad smaller (2.5″ x 3″) than the standard 3×4 pocket cards–so dimensionally they fit very well…

 

I hope to put together some samples shortly so you can see how these all work together; as well as post some additional samples from the archives of Club Scrap papers, stamp images and stencils.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    July 3, 2014 9:35 pm

    Love this article Lynn! Thank you for sharing. Got the gears going.

  2. Mary in WI permalink
    June 30, 2014 8:03 pm

    of all the Club Scrap/Stamp stamps that I have, I think you chose the ones that I DON’T have . . .boo, hoo . . . but I will be checking out some of my other kits to see if I come up with something comparable . . . Thanks Sis, . . . I mean Lynn . . . .tee hee ! (heart) You!

    • LynnMath permalink*
      July 1, 2014 10:47 am

      Thanks, Sister Mary — and you’ll be surprised to find what you can use hiding in your stash!

  3. June 30, 2014 5:52 pm

    Love those stamps and all these ideas Lynn!

    • LynnMath permalink*
      July 1, 2014 10:46 am

      Thanks, Kay … more coming!

Leave a Reply

